

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

TECHNICAL COMMITTEE

May 6, 2025 9:31 to 10:37 A.M.

MINUTES

1. APPROVAL OF APRIL 2025 MINUTES

Mr. Dan Janousek asked for approval of the minutes from the April meeting of the Technical Committee. Mr. Steve Cohoon moved to approve the minutes with Mr. Sam Kahl seconding the motion. The minutes were unanimously approved.

2. RECOMMENDED ACTION ON RESOLUTION #25-29

Ms. Ndemazea Fonkem introduced the five proposed amendments to the FY 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program, all proposed by the MDOT MTA. Four amendments update existing projects and one introduces a new project.

Ms. Jamie Richardson of MDOT MTA presented the details of the five amendments. When the MDOT MTA receives a grant, funds must be reflected in the year of obligation, and the amendment would reflected in the year of obligation. The Bus and Paratransit Vehicle Overhaul and Replacement project replaces MTA buses and paratransit vehicles to support fleet capacity and remove aging equipment. The amendment obligates \$44.85 million in CMAQ funds and \$7.5 million in state match in FY 2025.

The Zero Emission Infrastructure and Rolling Stock project supports the purchase of battery electric buses and related infrastructure. Through the purchases, this project reduces greenhouse gas emissions and grow the economy. The amendment obligates \$393,000 in CMAQ funds, \$18.8 million in Carbon Reduction Program funds, and \$3.3 million in state funding in FY 2025.

The Urban Transit Systems - Operating Assistance project supports locally operated transit systems in the region. Funding from this amendment will cover CY 2024 and 2025 operational costs in Harford County. The amendment obligates \$4.6 million in 5307 funding and \$4.6 million in local match funds in FY 2025.

The MARC Facilities project encompass both facility improvements and equipment for MARC maintenance facilities and stations, supporting both state-of-good-repair and rider experience. Along with adding funding, this amendment updates the project description and project benefits. The amendment obligates \$28 million in 5337 funding and \$7 million in state match in FY 2025.

Technical Committee May 6, 2025 Page 2 of 4

The Francis Scott Key Bridge Transit Incentives project is a new project and an addition to the FY 2025-2028 TIP. MDOT MTA is piloting a program to support businesses and residents affected by the March 2024 Francis Scott Key Bridge collapse. The program will offer short-term cost sharing incentives to employers who participate in transit pass subsidization. The amendment obligates \$1 million in CMAQ funds and \$250,000 in state match in FY 2025, when all funds will be obligated.

Mr. Janousek asked for a motion and a second to Resolution #25-29. Mr. Duah moved to approve the resolution with Mr. Kahl seconding the motion. Mr. Kahl asked for some information on the FSK Transit Incentive program. Ms. Richardson and Mr. Janousek indicated they would provide information to all members as soon as it is available. There were no questions or comments from the public. The resolution was unanimously approved by the Technical Committee to move to the BRTB.

[PowerPoint: MTA TIP Amendments]

3. APPOINTMENT OF A NOMINATING COMMITTEE FOR TC OFFICERS

Mr. Janousek asked Anne Arundel and Queen Anne's County to join him in developing a slate of Officers for FY 2026. Both members accepted the invitation to develop a slate of Officers. The slate will be presented in June with elections in July.

4. UPWP UPDATES:

- Upcoming Comment Periods: The PRG: Cherry Hill segment will open a comment period for Phase II on May 15. Likewise, the Transportation Improvement Program and associated Air Quality Conformity Determination will also start a 30-day comment period.
- Naming of the Upcoming LRTP: A work group including Stu Sirota, David Cooson, and Sam Kahl met with BMC staff to discuss possible names for the upcoming LRTP. Based on that input, BMC staff want to announce Region Forward 2055 as the potential name and is asking for feedback from the members.
- Information to accompany the Guide to Transportation Planning: In addition to regional
 information in the Guide, staff would also like to collect key contact information from
 each member so that during outreach events we can direct folks to the appropriate
 local contact.

5. OTHER BUSINESS

Mr. Janousek shared that the June Technical Committee meeting will be virtual on June 3, and will be followed by the Congestion Management Committee.

The chair requested a motion to close the business meeting at 9:49 A.M. Mr. Kahl motioned and Mr. Burnett seconded.

6. CLOSED SESSION FOR RFP DISCUSSION

The Technical Committee began the closed session at 9:50 A.M. to discuss upcoming Requests for Proposals. Mr. Kahl motioned and Mr. Burnett seconded to open a Closed Session.

 Crash Data Analytics/Telematics Review: Ms. Cindy Burch provided an overview and schedule for this FY 2026 UPWP task. Basically, the task will review local members crash data analysis capabilities, review vendors and platforms as well as provide Best Practices information.

The project will run throughout FY 2026 and the budget is for \$175,000.

• PRG: Henryton Road Bridge Spur - Mr. Keith Kucharek provided an overview of the proposed Patapsco Regional Greenway: Henryton Road Bridge segment Request for Proposals (RFP). This trail spur would connect Freedom Park to the McKeldin Area of PVSP.

Mr. Kucharek discussed seven tasks that will be included. The budget for this project is \$250,000. Work is anticipated to take approximately one year from the consultant notice to proceed.

There were no further questions from the Technical Committee and both projects were unanimously approved to move forward with their RFPs.

The chair asked for a motion to close the meeting. Mr. Kahl motioned and Mr. Duah seconded the motion. The meeting ended at 10:37 A.M.

ATTENDANCE

Members

Steve Cohoon – Queen Anne's County Department of Public Works

Angelica Daniel – Baltimore County Department of Public Works & Transportation

Kwaku Duah – Annapolis Department of Transportation

Albert Guiney Engel – Maryland Transit Administration (MDOT MTA)

Dan Janousek – Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT)

Sam Kahl – Harford County Department of Public Works

Brooks Phelps – Maryland Department of Planning

Catherine Salarano – Maryland Department of the Environment

Sean Burnett (for Stu Sirota) – Baltimore City Department of Transportation

Brian Ulrich – Anne Arundel County Office of Transportation (OOT)

Staff and Guests

Regina Aris - Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC) Tim Briggs - BMC Cindy Burch - BMC Rebecca Deibel - BMC Ndemazea Fonkem - BMC Technical Committee May 6, 2025 Page 4 of 4

Victor Henry - BMC
Andrea Jackson - BMC
Keith Kucharek - BMC
Todd Lang - BMC
Joe Lombardo - MDOT State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA)
Anna Marshall - BMC
Charlene Mingus - BMC
Md. Mokhlesur Rahman - BMC
Jamie Richardson - MDOT MTA
Marium Sultan - BMC
Hunter Withers - MDOT SHA