

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

INTERAGENCY CONSULTATION GROUP

April 6, 2022 9:32 – 10:22 A.M.

Virtual Meeting

MINUTES

The meeting was called to order at 9:32 A.M. by Ms. Nicole Hebert (BMC).

1. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Ms. Hebert welcomed Interagency Consultation Group (ICG) members and guests to the meeting. Attendees were then asked to introduce themselves.

2. APPROVAL OF THE FEBRUARY 2022 MINUTES

The members were asked to review the minutes of the February 2nd ICG meeting. Ms. Catherine Salarano (MDE) made a motion to approve the minutes. Mr. Alex Rawls (BRTB) seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

3. CONFORMITY DETERMINATION OF MAXIMIZE 2045 AND THE 2023-2026 TIP

Prior to the meeting, Ms. Hebert shared two documents prepared by BMC staff with recommended exempt/nonexempt conformity status for projects that have been proposed for inclusion in the 2023-2026 TIP. These documents were emailed to ICG members in advance of the meeting. It was shared with the group that since submitting the documents there were two updates: three projects had been removed from the list of recommended exemptions, and one project had been added to the nonexempt list (I-795: Dolfield Boulevard Interchange).

Ms. Hebert introduced Mr. Keith Kucharek, the TIP coordinator for BMC. He presented detailed descriptions of projects that are newly proposed for the 2023-2026 TIP as compared to the current 2022-2025 TIP. Of the projects presented, six are new projects recommended to be considered exempt, five projects recommended for exemption had been included in previous TIPs but are not in the 2022-2025 TIP, one project recommended to be nonexempt is new, one project recommended to be nonexempt had been included in previous TIPs but is not in the current 2022-2025 TIP, and three projects recommended to be nonexempt were formerly Anne Arundel County projects. Altogether, there are 16 projects which are newly proposed as compared to projects included in the 2022-2025 TIP.

There were no questions regarding the recommended projects conformity exemption status. Mr. Dan Janousek (MDOT) notified the group that MDOT SHA will be submitting a 2022-2025 TIP amendment request to Mr. Kucharek to add the I-795: Dolfield Boulevard Interchange project. With no further questions, Mr. Alex Rawls (BRTB) motioned to approve the conformity exemption recommendations, Ms. Salarano seconded, and the motion was approved unanimously.

Ms. Hebert shared that a delay is anticipated in the conformity analysis schedule, but that the exact date adjustments are unknown. With this delay, it is possible MOVES3 could be utilized for the conformity analysis as opposed to MOVES2014a. Ms. Hebert noted she would keep the ICG posted regarding schedule adjustments and availability of MOVES3 modeling.

[Presentation: TIP Sheets for Newly Proposed 2023-2026 TIP Projects]

4. 2022-2025 TIP AMENDMENT

Ms. Hebert presented one proposed TIP amendment which does not add capacity, but is a new project being added to the 2022-2025 TIP. The MD 91: Bridge Replacement over the North Branch of the Patapsco River and MD Midland Railroad project involves a bridge replacement that would maintain travel lanes. Ms. Hebert requested a motion to confirm that this TIP amendment is exempt from conformity requirements. Ms. Salarano motioned and Mr. Rawls seconded, with unanimous approval of the motion.

5. PRESENTATION: CMAO PLANNING

Ms. Hebert gave an overview of recent Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality (CMAQ) planning efforts. After a regulatory background was given, the specific CMAQ performance measures and the periods over which these measurements are made were described. A high level performance period schedule was then reviewed. The next major planning milestone occurs October 1, 2022, when two performance reports are due to FHWA: the First Full Performance Period Progress Report and the Second Baseline Performance Period Report/Plan. The contents of, geographic regions covered by, and agencies involved in compiling these reports were reviewed. A draft task schedule to ensure timely report submission was presented. There were no follow up questions.

[Presentation: CMAQ Planning 2022]

6. OZONE SIP PLANNING UPDATE

Ms. Hebert described, as discussed at the February ICG meeting, that EPA is anticipated to bump up the Baltimore region from marginal ozone nonattainment to moderate within the coming weeks. In order to meet public review requirements, the updated MDE SIP documentation will likely need to be ready for public review in October 2022. Ms. Hebert and Ms. Salarano have begun preliminary RACM coordination and Ms. Salarano will be gathering a group to discuss RACM analysis.

7. MEMBER UPDATES (AS NEEDED)

ICG members were given the opportunity to provide updates.

- BRTB shared with the group that the UPWP is slated for approval at the April BRTB meeting, which includes a variety of planning areas related to air emissions issues including transit, bike improvements, and EV charging infrastructure planning.
- MDE confirmed that communication will be sent in the coming weeks regarding RACM analysis.
- MDOT confirmed that Ms. Rebecca Bankard (Michael Baker) is the current MDOT contact regarding CMAQ planning.
- EPA Region 3 did not have any major updates, but expressed interest in in-person meetings.
- FHWA MD Division did not have any updates. Mr. Arhin did compliment BMC on the CMAQ presentation.
- FTA Region 3 did not have any updates.

8. OTHER BUSINESS

The group was invited to share any other updates which may have been missed. Hearing none, Ms. Hebert confirmed that the next ICG meeting is scheduled for May 4 at 9:30 A.M.

ATTENDANCE

Members

Kwame Arhin – Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) – Maryland Division Ryan Long – Federal Transit Administration (FTA) – Region 3 Greg Becoat – Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) – Region 3 Catherine Salarano – Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) Dan Janousek (for Virginia Burke) – Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Alex Rawls – Baltimore Regional Transportation Board (BRTB)

Staff and Guests

Regina Aris – Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC)
Charles Baber - BMC
Rochelle Carpenter
Nicole Hebert – BMC
Zachary Kaufman – BMC
Mohamed Khan – MDE
Keith Kucharek – BMC
Tim Shepherd - MDE
Roger Thunell – MDE
Brian Ulrich – Anne Arundel County, Technical Committee Vice Chair Marcia Ways – MDE