

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

BALTIMORE REGIONAL SAFETY SUBCOMMITTEE

Thursday, February 23, 2023 10:02 to 11:15 A.M. Virtual meeting

MINUTES

1. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Ms. Cindy Burch, Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC), called the meeting to order at 10:02 A.M. She welcomed everyone to the meeting and asked for volunteers to succeed Baltimore County Police Department Officer Lori Hippensteel as Subcommittee Chairperson.

2. APPROVAL OF DECEMBER 2022 MINUTES

Ms. Burch asked for any comments or changes to the minutes from the December 15, 2022 Baltimore Regional Safety Subcommittee meeting. Receiving none, the minutes were accepted into the record.

3. FEDERAL SAFETY UPDATES

Mr. Breck Jeffers, Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), reviewed the Maryland recipients of funding through the Safe Streets and Roads for All (SS4A) program. He discussed the nature of SS4A and funding availability. Mr. Jeffers briefly mentioned the Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP) funding for local projects proposal period that opened in February 2023.

Ms. Tanya Asman, Anne Arundel County Office of Transportation, and Mr. David Cookson, Howard County Office of Transportation, inquired about follow-up webinars and debriefings from USDOT. Mr. Jeffers shared that he would try to assist as much as possible and would provide a point of contact at the USDOT Secretary's Office. Ms. Burch suggested a meeting focused on both funding opportunities outside of this Subcommittee.

Ms. Summer Bowman, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), shared information about the High Priority Grant Program. That program is available to a range of agencies, including regional, local, and municipal entities, and does not require matching funds.

[PowerPoint: Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration – High Priority Grants]

* 1500 Whetstone Way, Suite 300, Baltimore, MD, 21230 * Phone 410-732-0500 * www.baltometro.org
Voting: City of Annapolis, Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Queen Anne's County, MD Department of Transportation and Annapolis Transit. Non-Voting: MD Department of the Environment, MD Department of Planning, and MD Transit Administration.

4. STATE SAFETY UPDATES

Mr. Tim Richards, Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration's Highway Safety Office (MHSO), explained a recently completed Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety Program Assessment and shared significant recommendations from the report (<u>https://zerodeathsmd.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/02/MD-PedBike-FINAL-Assessment-Report.pdf</u>). He also provided updates on State traffic safety legislation under review.

Mr. Barry List, MDOT State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA), asked about any concerns among law enforcement about identifying drug-impaired drivers after the marijuana recreational use law is enacted. That is something that the State Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Task Force is focused on and will know more once the law is implemented.

[PowerPoint: Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety Assessment & Legislation - MHSO]

5. LOOK ALIVE

Mr. Bala Akundi, BMC, provided an update on the Look Alive Campaign with Signal Woman that included a report of FY 2022 activities and impact. He shared upcoming events, a few in Spring 2023 and many in Fall 2023.

[PowerPoint: 2022 Look Alive Campaign Summary]

6. LOCAL STRATEGIC HIGHWAY SAFETY PLANS (SHSP)

Ms. Burch shared an update on the Local SHSPs in the region:

- Anne Arundel County's Vision Zero team began bi-monthly meetings in February 2023 and was awarded Safe Streets and Roads for All funding.
- Baltimore City conducted a Safe System Approach Workshop in February 2023 and was awarded Safe Streets and Roads for All funding.
- Baltimore County conducted a Safe System Approach Workshop in November 2022 and is exploring the development of a traffic safety garden/educational facility.
- Carroll County conducted a Safe System Approach Workshop in December 2022.
- The Harford County Traffic Safety Advisory Board will approve an action plan at the next meeting and is utilizing a focused, data-driven approach to implementation of safety programs.
- Howard County has begun implementing legislation requiring infrastructure reviews of all fatal and non-motorist serious injury crashes.
- Queen Anne's County continues to work on the foundational components of an SHSP and plans to hold a stakeholder summit in 2023
- The City of Bel Air was awarded Safe Streets and Roads for All funding and will convene an SHSP committee in 2023.

7. OTHER/NEW BUSINES

Ms. Burch shared information about the 2023 Maryland Highway Safety Summit, which will include a panel devoted to Local SHSP and Safe System Approach partners. That panel will include representatives from the region. The Summit will be held on April 12, 2023 and registration is open (<u>https://zerodeathsmd.gov/highway-safety-office/highway-safety-summit/</u>).

Ms. Burch noted the upcoming meeting dates for this subcommittee (May 25, September 28, and December 14) and that all will be conducted virtually.

No other discussion was had and Ms. Burch adjourned the meeting at 11:15 A.M.

Next Meeting – May 25, 2023, 10:00 A.M.

Attendance:

Tanya Asman – Anne Arundel County Office of Transportation Jessie Bialek - Baltimore County Dept. of Public Works and Transportation (DPW&T) Michael Bomgardner – MDOT Motor Vehicle Administration's Highway Safety Office (MVA MHSO) Summer Bowman – Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration David Cookson - Howard County Office of Transportation Michael Davies – MHSO Wellington Felix – National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Jennifer Gray – MHSO Thomas Hamed – Burgess & Niple, Inc. Breck Jeffers – Federal Highway Administration Debbie Jennings – Chesapeake Region Safety Council Tim Kerns – MHSO Julie Kwedar – MHSO Chris Letnaunchyn – Carroll County Department of Public Works Barry List – MDOT State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA) Tom Morehouse – Baltimore County Police Department Doug Mowbray – MHSO Janie Nham – Transportation Planning Board Tim Richards – MHSO John Rotz – MDOT SHA Fritzen Royer – Baltimore County DPW&T Dominic Scali – Anne Arundel County Police Department Nanette Schieke – MDOT MVA Kris Singleton – Howard County Department of Public Works (HCDPW) Christina Utz – MHSO Tracy Whitman – Kids in Safety Seats (KISS) Yan Zhang – HCDPW

Staff:

Bala Akundi – Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC)

Safety Subcommittee February 23, 2023 Page 4 of 4

Regina Aris – BMC Cindy Burch – BMC Charlene Mingus – BMC Eileen Singleton – BMC